My favorite online games (that got axed)

Al Computer Anna GIF - Al Computer Anna Bando - Discover & Share GIFsHello dear readers, DarkdaemonPK2 here. I hope everyone is in good health. I also dabbled in the world of online games during the early years of the internet when it became widespread and popular in my country. Internet cafes would usually be jam packed for both customers and for those people who just want to hang out and watch gamers play. Online games were a fun experience since you get to play with people all over the world in front of your PC, mobile phone, or any game console and have a grand time. Unfortunately, online games are not forever and will  be doomed to vanish to obscurity only to be remembered for those who can recall it. Today, I’ll revisit some of the online games that I’ve had the pleasure of playing. Let’s go!

1. Gunbound 
GunBound PHGunbound is a Korean strategy turn-based artillery game developed by Softnyx made in the same vein as Worms by Team17. Compared to Worms where you fight an entire team you control, Gunbound pits you with other human players (either 1 vs 1 or squad  vs squad) while piloting vehicles on different terrains packed with hazards ranging from hurricanes that can alter trajectories, to other elements that can affect your projectiles. Unlike Worms, your vehicles can have limited mobility during your move, cannot jump, and have to rely more on how you fire your shots to hit your opponents. You can also buy different items before the battle to aid you in your fights.

GunBound Classic (Thor's Hammer) - LutrisThe most iconic feature of the game is the giant satellite floating around the battle field where if it’s active, it will mow down any target the player shoots at. I was introduced to this game early 2002 or 2003 since I saw most people playing this game on internet cafes which made try it as well. The server that I played was called Gunbound Thor’s Hammer but eventually, the Philippines got its own server called Gunbound Philippines. The game is free to play with the ability to pay for items called avatars to enhance your stats and aesthetics of your character. Sadly, if I remember correctly, Gunbound Philippines shutdown by 2007 or 2009 and I never got to play it again. However, I just learned that it is now available in Steam titled GunboundM way since December of 2021. Sweet!

2. SD Gundam Capsule Fighters Online
SD Gundam Capsule Fighter Online - WikipediaSD Gundam Capsule Fighter Online is a free-to-play MMO third-person shooter developed by Softmax that enables you to pilot chibi sized mobile suits from different Gundam timelines in a battle royale. You start first with a weak mobile suit but you can gather parts to gain access to more powerful ones as you progress in the game. Your mobile suit has 3 weapons you can utilize during fights: melee, ranged, and your SS. Some suits are better in close quarter combat while others excel in long distance battles. There are also mission modes where you have to team up with other players in order to get more parts and credits. You can use the credits you earn in fights to purchase more suits or you can just use purchase it using real cash.

SDGO (SD Gundam Capsule Fighter Online) - New UnitsI did not buy any of the mobile suits in the game since I was really cheap but I take pride on the GNX-612T/AA Superbia GN-X that I got which is quite formidable in battles. It’s really fun playing this game since it made feel I was somewhat like a real mobile suit pilot in a Gundam anime and I get to use different robots that I have unlocked for free. Sadly, it came to an end in 2015 and all the time I have spent with this great game went up in smoke. Darn it…

3. Dragomon Hunter
Dragomon Hunter - Meet the creatures players have to tame - MMO CultureDragomon Hunter is an Anime-style MMORPG where the objective of the game is to hunt down monsters similar to the Pokémon franchise. Like any MMORPG, you can select what kind of class your character will be, grind levels to be powerful, buy weapons and armor to battle enemies effectively, and so on. You can also ride monsters to traverse the land for easier navigation. What I really like about this game is that battles are in real time reminiscent to the Mana series where you need to be quick on your reflexes in order to stay alive. You can also have your captured monsters breed on your ranch to spawn better critters to use. The graphics are crips and very detailed depending on your PC specs and the anime art style will appeal to its fans. Unfortunately, not even a year of playing this game that it got canceled which made me severely depressed since I just started my journey. I want to play more of this, dang it! I only some game company would pick up this rare gem and put it back online…

Lull In The Sea Anime Girl Crying GIF - Lull In The Sea Anime Girl Crying  Cry Anime - Discover & Share GIFs | Anime girl crying, Anime, Anime girlAnd those are the online games that I liked that got axed. Any online games that you also liked that met the meat grinder? I’d like to hear your tale! Until next time my friends.

-DarkdaemonPK2


Sources:
https://www.mmorpg.com/sd-gundam-capsule-fighter-online
https://dragomon-hunter.fandom.com/wiki/Dragomon_Hunter


2 thoughts on “My favorite online games (that got axed)

  1. I played Princess Connect! Re:Dive on the global server from day one. Then, after two years they shut it down with one month’s notice. I was in a discord with Clan members and it was a lot of fun. Everyone was gutted. Since then, I’ve jumped onto the Japanese server in order to continue with a couple of the clan members. I still love the game but wish I could enjoy the story as well. Think I’d need to become completely fluent in Japanese for that to happen… one day, maybe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! Thanks for dropping by. I also played that briefly but dropped it since I was heavily invested on play Azur Lane. It’s a cute game, but there something lacking. Having a Karyl nendoroid was good enough for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment